Ireland Rugby Awards Shortlist

The short listing of Zurich players’ player of the year award has been made. And the official announcement in this regards has also been made recently. The players who have been shortlisted for the awards are Robbie Henshaw, CJ Stander, Conor Murray and Tadhg Furlong. However, the name of the winner will be announced on 10th May at the annual dinner of Rugby Players Ireland in Dublin.

In 2016 the winner of the Zurich players’ player of the year was Stander. There will many other awards given in the event and this includes women’s XVs player of the year award as well. The captain of Ireland Paula Fitzpatrick, Lindsay Peat and Leah Lyons are in the shortlisted name for this award. 

Coming to the award young player of the year “Nevin Spence”, than short listing for this award has also been one and the nominees for the awards are Joey Carbery, Darren Sweetnam and Garry Ringrose. In the European player of the year category, name of Sweetnam has been shortlisted; he is 23, and a year older than Ringrose.

The next award in the series is ‘The Irish Times supporters’ player of the season’. For this award as well the names have been shortlisted and the nominees for this award are Henshaw, Furlong, Stander, Murray, Paddy Jackson, Charles Piutau and John Muldoon. The shortlisted names have been picked after the transparent voting process through the jury.

The basis of the selection for the award was, how efficient the player is, overall performance of the player of the year, extraordinary efforts done by during the game.

For more details about different award category and the name of nominees, the website of the Zurich Players’ Player of the award website or the related departments could be checked.