Ireland’s World Cup Bid in Jeopardy

It will come as a shock to rugby fans in Ireland who are hoping the World Cup comes to it’s shores in 2023, but Shane Ross the sports minister of Ireland has still yet to get the necessary sign-off for the bid to be formally put forward, and will need the help of some emergency legislation in order to get the bid off the ground.

In the political circles of Ireland, doubt is prevailing about whether the proposal made by Ross to host 2023 Rugby event will be accepted or not. Continue reading Ireland’s World Cup Bid in Jeopardy

Guinness Series Declared

The long wait of Rugby lovers is now over as the kick-off times and dates and for the Guinness Series 2017 is confirmed by the authorities of the series. The series will start in November and will take place at Aviva Stadium. The opening of the series will be done on 12th November at 14.30. In the series Ireland will take on the Fiji, Argentina and South Africa.

The last Springboks were played by Ireland in June 2016 when it got the first test victory on the soil of South Africa in Cape Town.

Last visit of South Africa to Dublin was in 2014 November with Ireland 29-15 winners. On the other hand, team Fiji will play match of the series on 18 November at the same Aviva Stadium and the match will kick-off at 17.30. Continue reading Guinness Series Declared

Ireland Rugby Awards Shortlist

The short listing of Zurich players’ player of the year award has been made. And the official announcement in this regards has also been made recently. The players who have been shortlisted for the awards are Robbie Henshaw, CJ Stander, Conor Murray and Tadhg Furlong. However, the name of the winner will be announced on 10th May at the annual dinner of Rugby Players Ireland in Dublin.

In 2016 the winner of the Zurich players’ player of the year was Stander. There will many other awards given in the event and this includes women’s XVs player of the year award as well. The captain of Ireland Paula Fitzpatrick, Lindsay Peat and Leah Lyons are in the shortlisted name for this award. 

Coming to the award young player of the year “Nevin Spence”, than short listing for this award has also been one and the nominees for the awards are Joey Carbery, Darren Sweetnam and Garry Ringrose. In the European player of the year category, name of Sweetnam has been shortlisted; he is 23, and a year older than Ringrose. Continue reading Ireland Rugby Awards Shortlist

Ireland Women’s Training Squad For WRWC 2017

The team in Ireland Women management has confirmed a strong panel of 48 to prepare players for the Women’s Rugby World Cup (WRWC). The World cup is taking place in Ireland and will start in August 2017.   

Now it is less than 100 days left to kick-off the tournament and the announcement of training squad came in. These are the players who will probably represent Ireland in the series in August.

The new training panel has 13 players with experience of the World Cup, the panel members includes Claire Molloy, Niamh Briggs, Marie Louise Reilly and Nora Stapleton. These players are hoping to get in the third World Cup that is going to start in August. Continue reading Ireland Women’s Training Squad For WRWC 2017